CLIC Innovation Ltd


CLIC Innovation is an open innovation cluster with the mission of creating breakthrough solutions in bioeconomy, circular economy and energy systems. CLIC Innovation builds and coordinates collaborative R&D&I projects to construct systemic solutions which are beyond the resources of individual operators. The cluster is a cross-organizational fast-moving network. The shareholders of the nonprofit CLIC Innovation Ltd include 30 international companies and 16 universities and research institutions from Finland.


CLIC’s mission is to create comprehensive solutions with global business impact far beyond the capabilities of individual actors. In doing so, we address systemic challenges that arise from the scarcity of natural resources. CLIC speeds up the commercialization of new information by initiating and orchestrating solution-oriented projects covering the entire field from curiosity research to demonstrations. CLIC is the core local node of global cross-industrial and disciplinary competence network with business relevance.


The core of CLIC comprises of thirty world-leading companies of their own branch and the most significant national scientific institutions (16) from Finland. To our shareholders sustainability is a significant business driver and source of scientific inspiration.


ABB Oy, Andritz Oy, BMH Technology Oy, Elenia Oy, FCG Finnish Consulting Group Oy, Fortum Oyj, Fortum Waste Solutions Oy, Gasum Oy, Helen Oy, Kemira Oyj, Kuusakoski Oy, Lassila & Tikanoja Oyj, Metsä Board Oyj, Metsä Fibre Oy, Metsäliitto Group, Metsäteho Oy, Myllykoski Oyj, Neste Oyj, Outotec Oyj, Pohjolan Voima Oy, Rautaruukki Oyj, Stora Enso Oyj, Sumitomo SHI FW Energia Oy, UPM-Kymmene Oyj, Vaisala Oyj, Valmet Oyj, Vantaan Energia Oy, Vapo Oy, Wärtsilä Finland Oy, ÅF-Consult Oy

Aalto University, Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), Finnish Meteorological Institute, Geological Survey of Finland (GTK), Lappeenranta University of Technology, Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke), National Land Survey of Finland (MML), University of Tampere, University of Eastern Finland, University of Helsinki, University of Jyväskylä, University of Oulu, University of Turku, University of Vaasa, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Oy, Åbo Akademi


CLIC Innovation LTD